Crack in the Road

Nikki Nack, the third album from tUnE-yArDs is now available online to stream in its entirety.

Click here to listen now.

Just 20 minutes in and what I’m hearing is already magnificent. Raw and kooky enough to be reminscent of the dictaphone GarageBand mashups that made Merill Garbus famous, yet Nikki Nack takes her work to a new level of clarity and confidence.

Following the success of w h o k i l l (2011) which was voted Album of the Year by Village Voice in its poll of 700 of America’s top music critics, it was hard to see where Merill Garbus and bassist Nate Brenner would go next. Nikki Nack is the answer, the album I always hoped for but never expected.

Anyway enough of my jabbering, see the track list below and take a listen for yourself over at NPR or pre-order on the 4AD Store here.

1 Find A New Way 3.28
2 Water Fountain 3.03
3 Time of Dark 4.33
4 Real Thing 3.22
5 Look Around 4.26
6 Hey Life 3.37
7 Sink-O 3.17
8 Why Do We Dine On The Tots? 1.28
9 Stop That Man 3.33
10 Wait for a Minute 3.54
11 Left Behind 4.31
12 Rocking Chair 2.03
13 Manchild 3.09